A Look Inside Donald Trump’s Cabinet

mike pence
Prev11 of 13Next

rick perryRick Perry (Secretary of Energy)

James Richard “Rick” Perry (born March 4, 1950) is an American politician who was 47th Governor of Texas from December 2000 to January 2015. A Republican, he was elected Lieutenant Governor of Texas in 1998 and assumed the governorship in December 2000 when then-governor George W. Bush resigned to become president. Perry is the longest-serving governor in Texas history.

Perry was elected to full gubernatorial terms in 2002, 2006 and 2010 and is the fourth Texas governor (after Allan Shivers, Price Daniel and John Connally) to serve three terms. With a tenure in office of 14 years, 30 days, Perry was, at the time he left office, the second longest-serving current U.S. governor (after Terry Branstad of Iowa). Perry was chairman of the Republican Governors Association in 2008 and again in 2011. Perry ran unsuccessfully for the Republican nomination for president in 2012 and 2016. On December 14, 2016, President-elect Donald Trump announced his intention to nominate Perry as the Secretary of Energy.